Hidden Cosmetics Highlighter/Viral Highlighter – Review

You never heard about Hidden CosmeticsThis will change in a few minutes. You might recall that one or two months ago, a video where a highlighter was swatched went viral on every social media platform there is. The video got so many views and everyone was desperate to get their hands on the highlighter, myself included. I researched and found the Instagram of the girl that made the highlighter (@beautyby.nk). I want to tell you a little bit about her “shop” before I start the actual review.
Nosheen Khan started making highlighters, which she sold on Instagram. She then had to expand and use the platform Etsy to sell them, since she got way too many direct messages on her personal instagram account. I got myself the highlighter in the shade Gatsby when she restocked on Etsy for the second time, keep in mind all of her highlighters sold out within five minutes. She now has her own website up where she will sell her products once she restocks.
Click here if you’ve never seen the viral video

Hidden Cosmetics Gatsby Highlighter

Photo 05-07-16 5 04 31 PM

Shop description:
Hidden Cosmetics are determined to make sure that our highlighters meet your standards, we aim to please each and every one of our customers by making sure they leave a phenomenal glow on the inner corner of your eyes, cheekbones and the bridge of your nose.
The ingredients that we use in our highlighters are all CRUELTY FREE which means that they are not tested on animals.
Net Weight: 3g
Pan size 37mm
The ingredients that we use to create our highlighters are all listed inside our elegant packaging.
Price: 12£ + shipping

My personal review

Photo 05-07-16 5 05 02 PMThe highlighter came in the pan only wrapped in bubble wrap with an envelope, but I knew that since she didn’t have her improved own packaging when I placed my order. Her costumer service and the shipping was all over the place, but keep in mind that she did everything on her own, meaning she had NO one working for her. She made the highlighters herself, answered to every message herself and shipped all the products herself, so I wasn’t too mad about it.
I have to admit that I was a little disappointed when I first swatched the product on my arm because I expected the same glow that we all saw in the viral video. But on the face it totally made up for the first impression.

The application is really easy, I take my highlighting brush and smoothly apply Gatsby wherever I want the glow to be. I applied it on my cheeks, under my eyebrow, on the tip of my nose and on my cupids bow. I can tell you that I already LOVE this product, you can go for a really “in your face”-glow or a settle natural glow that looks amazing.

Photo 05-07-16 5 03 41 PM

Photo 05-07-16 5 04 12 PM

I’d totally order from Hidden Cosmetics again but I think it would be better to wait a little, since the fonder is still pretty overwhelmed with how many requests there are for her highlighters. So please be patient with her, keep in mind that she now only has two people working for her.
Rating: 4/5

Are you as obsessed with highlighters as I am? If you are, please tell me about your holy grail highlighter in the comments down below. Also please give me feedback if you like my reviews like that or if you want me to organize the post more. I’m still at the beginning and need any feedback I can get.

In love,
Caroll-Ann aka dvlightful

Leave a Reply

